Module 9 (Part B): Planning Lessons with Technology

For those of you who have little, if any, experience planning lessons, what worries you the most about the process?

As a pre-service teacher with zero lesson planning experience, I worry that I am being seduced by the theory. I worry that my ideas and chosen frameworks will not translate into the classroom as well as they sound in the texts. This is because I am yet to complete the practical components of my degree and am due to commence my first curriculum method subject next session due to a mid-year enrolment. I am merely hypothesising what I think may be effective at this stage.

Roblyer and Doering suggest that teachers should develop a metacognitive awareness of TPACK or Tech-PACK, enabling them to identify gaps in their knowledge to effectively plan for technology integration (Roblyer & Doering, 2014, p. 67). However, I am yet to acquire the skills to cognitively link technology with pedagogy and relate the affordances of technology to teaching goals as the literature suggests (Krauskopf, Zahn, & Hesse, 2012). I lack experience and pedagogical knowledge to fill that gap. I am sure in time, applying such frameworks in lesson planning will become automatic.

Haynes (2010) identifies a three-step approach to lesson planning that appeals to my practical frame of mind.

  1. Planning and preparation (Before class)
  2. Teaching and learning (During class)
  3. Assessment, evaluation and review (After class)

Haynes also argues that step three (assessment and evaluation) should inform step one (planning and prep), thus lesson planning becomes a cycle. I would love to hear from anyone who has used the three-step approach or has advice when it comes to lesson planning, specifically how to apply theory into practice.

References

Haynes, A. (2010). The Complete Guide to Lesson Planning and Preparation. Bloomsbury Publishing.

Krauskopf, K., Zahn, C., & Hesse, F. (2012). Leveraging the affordances of YouTube: The role of pedagogical knowledge and mental models of technology functions for lesson planning with technology. Computers & Education, 58(4), 1194-1206.

Roblyer, M. D., & Doering, A. H. (2014). Intergrating Educational Technology into Teaching (6th ed.). Essex, UK: Pearson Education Limited.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Module 9 (Part B): Planning Lessons with Technology

  1. Hi Angela,

    I wouldn’t worry too much about the theory on lesson planning. When I undertook my initial practicum I found that in the first few weeks there is a lot of class observation time before you teach. By the time you plan your first real lesson you will have observed many lessons. In my case I had a very helpful supervisor that walked me through the process and was there to assist at any point. As I stated in my Blog 9, it is important to be flexible in your lesson planning because lessons don’t always go to plan. Haynes 3 step approach is a good guide to lesson planning. Evaluation is worth every minute that it takes and I found that I learned much through evaluating my lessons – both individually and with my supervisor. Evaluation helped for tweaking an existing lesson and was useful for planning future ones. Lesson planning is sometimes a process of trial and error, we just have to learn from our errors.

    Good luck

    Col

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Col,
      Thanks so much, that is a relief to hear. I was really hoping we would get the opportunity to observe before attempting the lessons ourselves. I definitely plan to give myself a ‘licence to fail’ as Roblyer and Doering suggest in the text, by evaluating my mishaps and remaining flexible in my approach. Fingers crossed for a helpful and patient supervising teacher, as you have experienced.
      Angela

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ltub says:

    Hi Angela

    I understand these concerns! I am a pre-service TAS teacher and have been able to complete 2 out of 3 of my practicum subjects. In my first prac, what I discovered very quickly is how we (internal friends) had all over planned. All of our lesson plans from theoretical subjects had far too much content for the time given. For some silly reason, I was surprised author much time you can lose with everyday processes like the role, and teenagers. Evaluation and assessment is invaluable and where a lot of learning happens.
    It is very eye opening to start to teach classes and learn how much is too much, and how much is not enough! While I am still learning this balancing skill it will be invaluable to keep TPACK in mind so I can work on balancing content with technology and pedagogy.

    Good luck for your first prac (hopefully soon)! It’s so much fun.

    Lauren.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Lauren, so great to hear of your positive prac experiences. I’ll keep that in mind regarding the content. I would definitely consider myself an overplanner and can see myself having this problem. Really looking forward to observing TPACK in action too.

      Angela

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

